PARTNERS for the Arts, Inc.

  • encourages and promotes the career of emerging performing artists by sponsoring competitions and public presentations,
  • promotes and interacts with performing arts organizations and schools of music in mutually beneficial activities, and
  • collaborates with others to develop educational programs that nurture audience development and love of classical music and the arts.

We hope you will join us!

PARTNERS is pleased to announce the Semifinalists of the
to be held October 12 & 13, 2019, at the historic Lyceum, Alexandria, VA

Mandy Brown Alexander Hahn
Leah Brziski Rebekah Howell
Timothy Bruno Mariya Kaganskaya
Hyunho Cho Johnathan McCullough
Sulgi Cho Timothy Murray
Jessica Crowell Alexandra Nowaskowiski
Edwin J. Davis Pascale Spinney
Gabrielle DeMers Catherine Swindle
Geoffrey Di Giorgio Louise Waycott
Claire Galloway

First Prize: $8,000
Second Prize:
** Honorable Mention Award $2,000 in memory of Sylvia Mestek Trefil
Finalists’ Encouragement Award
$300 each

** Donated by  Drs. James and Wanda Trefil.

Donors Make a Difference!
They strengthen the accomplishment of our mission

PARTNERS is very fortunate and honored to have many devoted donors. We are extremely grateful to them for the many ways in which they elevate and support our mission of promoting, encouraging and assisting the careers of emerging singers.

From the inception of PARTNERS for the Arts, founding member and vice-president emeritus, Dr. Robert Misbin, continues to be a loyal contributor of The Misbin Family Memorial Award.


PARTNERS is pleased to announce its partnership with INSERIES.

INSERIES works with D.C. artists and communities to create innovative theater grounded in opera and song  reimagining these forms, folding in an expanding range of aesthetic and cultural tradition.  They are  committed to excellence, creativity , and accessibility to our shared, multifaceted musical heritage, as exemplified by their regular Latinx cultural programs.


PARTNERS is pleased to announce its partnership
with Trinity Chamber Orchestra.

Trinity Chamber Orchestra is committed to deepen its engagement with the Washington community, to nurture the legacy of the Trinity Chamber Orchestra while supporting a new generation of musicians.


BRAVI winners of PARTNERS’ 2018  6th Vocal Awards Competition –
April 15, 2018

1st prize: bass-baritone
Christian Pursell (CA)
2nd prize: tenor
Brandon Scott Russell (OH)
Honorable Mention
soprano Robin Steitz (NY)
Judges Special Award
soprano Melissa Mino (VA)


Alyssa Martin
Emma McDermott
Julia Radosz


Judges semifinals: Thomas Colohan – artistic Director of the Washington Master Chorale, John Edward Niles – artistic director the Institute for Young Dramatic Voices/The American Wagner Project, Joseph Walsh – music Director for Mason, the In Series,  and Alexandria’s Metro Stage

 Judges finals: Rob Ainsley – director of the Washington National Opera’s Domingo- Cafritz Young Artist Program and the American Opera Initiative, Elizabeth Bishop –American mezzo-soprano, Robert Wood – founder and artistic director of UrbanArias


The Bulgarian Music Society in a co-presentation with PARTNERS for the Arts showcased Prizewinners and participants of PARTNERS’ Vocal Competition in its Annual Musicale, Friday, Feb. 22, 2019 at the Bulgarian Embassy in Washington D.C.
Pianist Dr. R. Timothy McReynolds, 2014 – 1st prize winner soprano Jennifer Cherest, tenor Matt Hill, 2018 – Judges Special Award soprano Melissa Mino, and Dr. Lupka Stoycheva.